Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

No one ever said being a mom was an easy job. I know how tough it can be to create some “mommy time” while you are hunting for lost socks and reading bedtime stories. I found that the hardest part for me, was getting over the guilt I felt for trying to get some time away from my children. But this is one of the most important lessons I have learned, (mostly from the wisdom of veteran moms!), taking care of myself is just as important s taking care of my children. My children deserve the best, that includes the best mommy. I can’t be my best me unless I make time to recharge my mom batteries and do something JUST FOR ME. So, I wanted to share some of the tricks that I use to create some mommy time for myself. They are all easy and require you to scoop out only 30 minutes of time or less from your day.

1. Shower Timesainsbury_s

This is my spin on the traditional bubble bath suggestion. Very little appeals to me about a bubble bath. The water gets too cold too quickly and I can never get the bubbles to stay big and fluffy, and if your like me, you have a shallow, stock bathtub in your bathroom. To get the ‘bubble bath’ feeling in the shower, I lather up my favorite body wash into an extra-large loofa and let the aroma fill the room. I rub it all over and just stand in the hot jet of water until it is all washed away. I just LOVE standing in the shower with my eyes closed. The tension in my back is released and my mind is at peace. And the best part? The bathroom door has a lock! So, the bathroom has just become a kids-free zone!

2. Indulgence

dark-chocolate

photo courtesy of ifood.tv

I was watching the Dr. OZ show, (something I normally never do), and he was interviewing a celebrity that had lost a bunch of weight. She was explaining that the only way she could keep herself on track was to indulge in her guilty little pleasures every now and again. I really like that word, indulge. Moms need to take the time to indulge into their favorite things everyday. For me, this is dark chocolate. Dark chocolate is said to packed with antioxidants and mood boosters. I really just love the luxurious feeling I get when I eat some. (heavy french accent) ” Hello, Mrs. Fancy Pants! Care to partake in some rich, creamy, dark chocolate?” (thick english accent) “Why, yes. Yes I would.” I instantly feel like I have pampered myself and it only takes 30 seconds.

 

3.  While they sleep…393_edited-1

Truly, the only time I am alone is when my little rascals are asleep. My husband and I use these precious moments to catch up on each others day and enjoy some cuddle time on the sofa or, when I’m really lucky and my husband is up for it, he massages my feet with my favorite foot cream. We cherish the last moments of the day. The house is silent and we can enjoy each others company.

These are just a few of the ways that I recharge my batteries after a hectic day. More to come! I hope you enjoyed. Thank you for stopping by!

 

